top of page

Nordic Offshore & Maritime Arbitration Association

Facilitating international arbitration in the Nordic countries



The Nordic Offshore and Maritime Arbitration Association was established 28 November 2017 on the initiative of the Danish, Finnish, Norwegian and Swedish Maritime Law Associations. The Nordic countries have long traditions for settling disputes within the maritime- and offshore industry by arbitration. Traditionally, ad hoc arbitration has been dominant in the Nordics, particularly in Norway and Denmark, while Sweden and Finland have stronger traditions for institutional arbitration.


In a globalized field as the shipping- and offshore, the Nordic industry and the Nordic legal environment recognize that it will be useful to develop an even more common approach to Nordic arbitration. In this context, the Maritime Law Associations together with the industry has developed the Rules and Best Practice of the Nordic Offshore and Maritime Arbitration Association, in order to promote transparent and cost-efficient arbitrations.



The Nordic Offshore and Maritime Arbitration Association ("Nordic Arbitration") has elected a new Board of Directors, and in total there are now 12 board members. 

  • Tore Schei, tidligere Høyesterettsjustitiarius 

  • Jon Stokholm, Højesteretsdommer 

  • Svante O. Johansson, Justitieråd 

  • Mads Bundgaard Larsen, Vicepræsident i Sø- og Handelsretten 

  • Trine-Lise Wilhelmsen, Professor 

  • Hannu Honka, Professor 

  • Peter Arnt Nielsen, Professor 

  • Peter Appel, Advokat 

  • Annica Börjesson, Advokat 

  • Jan Aminoff, Advokat 

  • Harald Kobbe, Advokat 

  • Georg Scheel, Advokat 

bottom of page